

P.O. Box 683 Clint, Texas 79836 Phone (915) 851-0304 • Fax (915) 851-9000

MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING

Date: Wednesday, August 2, 2017

Time: 6:09 PM

Place: El Paso County Emergency Services District #2 – Board Room

100 S. San Elizario Rd., Suite N

Clint, Texas 79836

Posted: July 28, 2017

All matters listed on this agenda may be discussed in executive session at the option of the El Paso County Emergency Services District #2 Commissioners following verbal announcement if an appropriate exception to the open meeting requirement of the Texas Open Meetings Act is applicable.

1. Call meeting to order.

Meeting was called to order by Mariana Navarrete at 6:09 P.M.

Pledge of Allegiance

2. Establishment of Quorum

Present was President Adrian Santana, Vice President Michael Diaz, Treasurer Rick Avalos, Secretary Jacqueline Butler, Commissioner Michael Barnes. Also present was the District Attorney, Richard Contreras.

3. Public comments, must notify the board to speak on certain agenda items. (5 minutes) Sign-in sheet provided.



P.O. Box 683 Clint, Texas 79836 Phone (915) 851-0304 • Fax (915) 851-9000

Regular Agenda

4. Discuss and take appropriate action regarding receiving a presentation on Budget, Property Tax Calculation and adoption, and financial policies as they relate to the County Emergency Service Districts.

Submitted By: Wally Hardgrove, County of El Paso No Motion Needed, Informational Purposes Only

5. Discuss and take action on tax increase for FY '17- '18.

Submitted By: Mariana Navarrete, District Administrator Motion: APPROVED for Effective Tax Rate of \$0.092349

Motioned by Mike Barnes Seconded by Rick Avalos Members Voting Aye: Santana, Diaz, Barnes, Butler, Avalos

Members Voting Nay: None Members Not Present: None

6. Discuss and take action on approving the budget for FY '17-'18.

Submitted By: Mariana Navarrete, District Administrator

Motion: APPROVED to use reserves to balance the budget for FY '17-'18.

Motioned by Adrian Santana Seconded by Rick Avalos Members Voting Aye: Santana, Diaz, Barnes, Butler, Avalos

Members Voting Nay: None Members Not Present: None

7. Discuss and take action on the Auto Policy renewal from VFIS renewing in September 2017.

Submitted By: Mariana Navarrete, District Administrator

No Motion Needed, Informational Purposes Only

8. Discuss and take action on updating the El Paso County ESD # 2 Holiday Schedule.

Submitted By: Mariana Navarrete, District Administrator

Motion: APPROVED to adopt El Paso County's Holiday schedule.

Motioned by Mike Diaz Seconded by Mike Barnes Members Voting Aye: Santana, Diaz, Barnes, Butler, Avalos

Members Voting Nay: None Members Not Present: None

9. Discuss and take action on adding an additional one (1) week of vacation after an employee has reached the anniversary date of five (5) years as an employee of the El Paso County ESD # 2.

Submitted By: Mariana Navarrete, District Administrator

Motion: APPROVED

Motioned by Adrian Santana

Seconded by Mike Diaz

Members Voting Aye: Santana, Diaz, Barnes, Butler, Avalos

Members Voting Nay: None Members Not Present: None

P.O. Box 683 Clint, Texas 79836 Phone (915) 851-0304 • Fax (915) 851-9000

10. Discuss and take action on approving the purchase of a LK500ti treadmill for the West Valley Fire Department.

Submitted By: Bill Adler, West Valley Fire Department

Motion: APPROVED for The Fitness Superstore for the amount of \$2,844.26.

Motioned by Mike Barnes Members Voting Aye: Santana, Diaz, Barnes, Butler, Avalos

Members Voting Nay: None Members Not Present: None

11. Discuss and take action on approving the purchase of a Concept 2 Model D Rower for the West Valley Fire Department.

Submitted By: Bill Adler, West Valley Fire Department

Motion: APPROVED for Concept 2 for the amount of \$895.00

Motioned by Mike Barnes Members Voting Aye: Santana, Diaz, Barnes, Butler, Avalos

Seconded by Mike Diaz

Members Voting Nay: None
Members Not Present: None

12. Discussion on pending litigation: ESD #2 vs. County of El Paso.

Submitted By: Richard Contreras, Legal

Motion: DELETED

Seconded by Mike Diaz

Motioned by Mike Diaz Members Voting Aye: Santana, Diaz, Barnes, Butler, Avalos

Seconded by Mike Barnes

Members Voting Nay: None
Members Not Present: None

13. Adjournment.