

P.O. Box 683 Clint, Texas 79836 Phone (915) 851-0304 • Fax (915) 851-9000

# **MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING**

Date: Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Time: 7:00 PM

Place: El Paso County Emergency Services District #2 – Board Room 100 S. San Elizario Rd., Suite N Clint, Texas 79836

Posted: Thursday, May 11, 2017

All matters listed on this agenda may be discussed in executive session at the option of the El Paso County Emergency Services District #2 Commissioners following verbal announcement if an appropriate exception to the open meeting requirement of the Texas Open Meetings Act is applicable.

1. Call meeting to order. Meeting was called to order by Mariana Navarrete at 7:00 P.M.

Pledge of Allegiance

- Establishment of Quorum Present was President Adrian Santana, Vice President Michael Diaz, Secretary Jacqueline Butler, Treasurer Rick Avalos, Commissioner Michael Barnes. Also present was the District Attorney, Richard Contreras.
- 3. Public comments, must notify the board to speak on certain agenda items. (5 minutes) Sign-in sheet provided.

## Consent Agenda

- 4. Discuss and approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on April 19, 2017.
- 5. Discuss and take action on the financial report by Mariana Navarrete.
  - a. Report on the bank balances. Money market, operation account, inspection account
    - Bank reconciliations



#### P.O. Box 683 Clint, Texas 79836 Phone (915) 851-0304 • Fax (915) 851-9000

- Check registers attached
- Department profit & loss budget vs. actual
- b. Approve for payment of the monthly bills and the request for reimbursement.

Motion: APPROVED Motioned by Michael Diaz Seconded by Rick Avalos

Members Voting Aye: Diaz, Barnes, Santana, Butler, Avalos Members Voting Nay: None Members Not Present: None

### Regular Agenda

- Discuss and approve the pension report for the 502's, 503's, 504's and retirement. Submitted By: Boyd Smith, Pension Chair Motion: APPROVED Motioned by Adrian Santana Seconded by Mike Barnes
   Members Voting Aye: Diaz, Barnes, Santana, Butler, Avalos Members Voting Nay: None Members Not Present: None
- 7. Discuss and provide updates on the First Responder Organization (FRO). Submitted By: Chief Trevizo, FRO Administrator No Motion Needed, Informational Purposes Only
- 8. Discuss Communications Manager report/information. Submitted By: Bill Adler, Communications Manager No Motion Needed, Informational Purposes Only
- 9. Postponed on April 19, 2017 by Adrian Santana. Discuss and take action on the purchase approved by Chief Trevizo for a bumper addition to B603. Submitted By: Roger Esparza, District Office
  Motion: APPROVED to pay \$3,185 from the discretionary account.
  Motioned by Rick Avalos
  Seconded by Adrian Santana
  Members Voting Aye: Diaz, Barnes, Santana, Butler, Avalos
  Members Voting Nay: None
  Members Not Present: None
- 10. Discuss and take action on the purchase of equipment for the new Clint pumper. Submitted By: Roger Esparza, District Office Motion: APPROVED Motioned by Adrian Santana Seconded by Rick Avalos
  Members Voting Aye: Diaz, Barnes, Santana, Butler, Avalos Members Voting Nay: None

Members Not Present: None



#### P.O. Box 683 Clint, Texas 79836 Phone (915) 851-0304 • Fax (915) 851-9000

11. Discuss and take action on authorizing the Socorro Fire Department to allow the Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo to host their Annual CRT training Community Emergency Response Team on Friday, June 23, 2017. Submitted By: Diego Sarinana, Socorro Fire Department Motion: APPROVED Motioned by Michael Diaz Seconded by Rick Avalos
Members Voting Aye: Diaz, Barnes, Santana, Butler, Avalos Members Voting Nay: None Members Not Present: None

12. Discuss and take action on purchasing a Keiser Force Machine in the amount of \$2,766.39 (two thousand seven hundred sixty six dollars with thirty nine cents). Submitted By: Diego Sarinana, Socorro Fire Department
 Motion: APPROVED
 Motioned by Adrian Santana
 Seconded by Michael Diaz
 Members Voting Aye: Diaz, Barnes, Santana, Butler, Avalos Members Voting Nay: None Members Not Present: None

13. Discuss and approve the next meeting to take place on <u>June 21, 2017</u> at 6:00 P.M.

 Submitted By: Mariana Navarrete, District Administrator

 Motion: APPROVED

 Motioned by Michael Diaz
 Members Voting Aye: Diaz, Barnes, Santana, Butler, Avalos

 Seconded by Mike Barnes
 Members Voting Nay: None

 Members Not Present: None

14. Adjournment.