

Gamma Mu Foundation Named Awards

Named Awards are a meaningful way for donors to honor a loved one, commemorate a special individual, or create a lasting legacy. These designated gifts support either scholarships or grants and are approved by the Gamma Mu Foundation Board of Directors.

To date, more than \$1.1 million in Named Award funds have been committed, supporting 23 Named Awards. The annual investment return from these dedicated funds helps sustain a growing number of scholarships and grants, extending the impact of our mission for years to come.

Cliff Pettit Founder Award

Established in 2025 to honor Cliff Pettit's enduring vision and leadership, the Cliff Pettit Founder Award celebrates his legacy of over 58 years of advocacy within the LGBTQ+ community. The award supports initiatives aligned with the Gamma Mu Foundation's mission, particularly those benefiting rural and underserved LGBTQ+ populations. Awarded annually and in perpetuity, the fund may support either grants or scholarships that reflect Cliff's lifelong commitment to advocacy and leadership.

Grant Awards (6)

Richard Karpawich Research and Education Award

Established in 2001 to honor Richard Karpawich and his supporters. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to individuals or organizations advancing research and education related to sexual orientation and related issues.

Gamma Mu 50th Anniversary Grant

Created in 2017 through the "50/50/50" campaign to commemorate the Foundation's 50th Anniversary. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to an organization with a strong record of implementing and managing Gamma Mu-funded projects.

Jones & Kahle Grant in Honor of Martin Culbreth

Established in 2017 to honor longtime Board Member and former President Martin Culbreth. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to a project serving elderly members of the LGBTQ+ community.

Richard J. Vanden Heuvel & Dean Greeson Award

Established in 2021 to recognize long-standing leadership, this award is presented to a project that demonstrates innovation, resilience, and transformative impact, particularly in advancing HIV prevention, health equity, or support services within the LGBTQ+ community.

Gordon Mann Award

Created in 2022 to honor Gordon Mann. Awarded to a project or organization that exemplifies service, leadership, and commitment to uplifting the LGBTQ+ community.

Granny Vise Memorial Award

Established in 2025 by Cliff Pettit in memory of his grandmother, Lillian "Granny" Vise. This award honors projects that advance the care, dignity, and well-being of LGBTQ+ seniors.

Scholarship Awards (16)

Robin McDonald Scholarship

Established in 2001 by friends of Robin McDonald in recognition of his contributions to the Foundation. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to gay men pursuing higher education.

Cliff and Aileen Pettit Scholarship

Established in 2004 by Cliff Pettit in honor of his parents. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to a gay man in good academic standing based on financial need and merit.

Art Huskey & Herman Phillips Memorial Scholarship

Created in 2005 through the Phillips/Huskey Trust. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to a gay man in good academic standing based on financial need and merit.

Tonamora Scholarship

Established in 2008 by the Tonamora Foundation. No restrictions are placed on the institution or field of study. Eligibility is determined by the Foundation's mission and goals. Awarded annually and in perpetuity.

Clark Trust Scholarship

Established in 2012 and expanded in 2013 by the Clark Trust. Open to LGBTQ+ applicants and awarded in accordance with the Foundation's scholarship policies. Awarded annually and in perpetuity.

Steven A. Lotterer Memorial Scholarship

Created in 2015 by a gift from Steven A. Lotterer's estate and contributions from friends and members. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to a gay man pursuing journalism, hospitality management, or public affairs.

Folisi & Goodwin Scholarship in Memory of Ray Williams

Established in 2016 through a bequest from Frank A. Folisi. Open to LGBTQ+ applicants and awarded in line with Foundation policies. Awarded annually and in perpetuity.

Gamma Mu 50th Anniversary Scholarship

Created in 2017 as part of the Foundation's "50/50/50" campaign. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to a gay man pursuing higher education.

Phil Papel Memorial Scholarship

Established in 2018 by a gift from Stan Papel. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to a graduate or undergraduate LGBTQ+ student.

Wade Simpson & Gordon Mann Scholarship

Created in 2019 through a gift from Wade Simpson and Gordon Mann. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to a gay male undergraduate or graduate student.

Steinhilber Weiser Foundation Scholarship

Established in 2019 by the Steinhilber Weiser Foundation. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to a gay male undergraduate or graduate student.

Robert McCullough Scholarship

Established in 2023 in honor of Robert L. McCullough. Open award with no restrictions beyond Foundation policy. Awarded annually.

Douglas G. Morton Scholarship

Established in 2023. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to a gay male undergraduate or graduate student, following Foundation scholarship guidelines.

Stephen Crocker & Donald Jolly Scholarship

Established in 2023. Awarded annually and in perpetuity to gay male undergraduate students from rural areas.

Professor Peter W. Sperlich Fund Scholarship

Established in 2024. Awarded annually to a gay male undergraduate student.

John Block & Chuck Kuglen Scholarship

Established in 2024 through a generous gift from John Block and Chuck Kuglen, this award is granted annually and in perpetuity to a gay male student pursuing undergraduate or graduate studies. There are no restrictions on the academic institution or field of study. Eligibility is based on alignment with the Foundation's mission and goals.

Updated: July 2025