HARRIS COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NO. 21 Minutes of the Meeting Held on May 27, 2025

LOCATION: Fire Station No. 3, 19720 Becker Road, Hockley Texas 77447

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT

James Oswalt
Nolan Butterfras
David Flower
Naomi Kleb
Hardy LeBlanc

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE

Jason DeVries, District's Fire Chief
Christopher Reyes, District's Assistant Fire Chief
Dave Ferguson, EMS Chief of HCESD 3
Jenni Talley, the District's Chief of Administration
Lori Grogg, Office Manager
Randall F. Parr, District's Bookkeeper
Lisa Covington, District's Bookkeeper
David Slattery, Slattery Tackett Architects
Ira A. Coveler of Coveler & Peeler, P.C., District's Legal Counsel
Krystine Ramon of Coveler & Peeler, P.C., District's Legal Counsel
Members of HCESD 21

- 1) Call meeting order. The meeting was called to order by Commissioner Oswalt at 8:31am. James Oswalt, Nolan Butterfras, David Flower, Naomi Kleb and Hardy LeBlanc were all present and a quorum was established.
- 2) To receive public comment. There were no public comments.
- 3) To review, discuss and award a contract for construction for Station 51 for maintenance and repairs. David Slattery presented to the Board that he solicited bids for the maintenance and repairs for Station 51. Mr. Slattery received four (4) bids back, which were from Belfor Property Restoration, The Construction Corporation, MACO Construction and JLA Construction Solutions. Mr. Slattery presented the breakdown of how the proposals were evaluated. Based on the proposals, Mr. Slattery recommended MACO Construction. Commissioner Kleb made a motion to award the contract for construction for Station 51 for the maintenance and repairs for Station 51 to MACO Construction pending final legal review of the contract. The motion was seconded by Commissioner LeBlanc. The motion passed 5 to 0.
- 4) To review, discuss and take action regarding the Interlocal Agreement for the Use of Station and Facilities, Lease Agreements and Cost Sharing Agreement between Harris County Emergency Services

District No. 3 and Harris County Emergency Services District No. 21. Boards from Harris County Emergency Services District No. 21 discussed the continued relationship between the Districts and cost sharing agreement. The Boards discussed the properties located at 17774 Cypress Rosehill Road and adjacent property and potential co-ownerships of the building. The Boards also discussed Station 52 and Station 57 and potential co-ownership or part-ownership of those Stations. Per the Interlocal Agreement, both Boards agreed to have the real estate and construction committee meet once a both to go over any real estate purchases and new construction. The Committee members for Harris County Emergency Services District No. 3 are Robert Carvell and Patty Diehl and for Harris County Emergency Services District No. 21 are James Oswalt and David Flower. Both Boards discussed having joint meetings, at least every other month. No action was taken.

- 5) To meet in Closed Session under Government Code Section 551.071 to consult with legal counsel regarding pending or contemplated litigation, settlement offers or matters which require confidentiality under Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct of the State Bar of Texas. The Board chose not to go into Closed Session to consult with legal counsel.
- 6) To meet in Closed Session pursuant to Government Code Section 551.072 to deliberate regarding real estate matters. The Board chose not to go into Closed Session to deliberate real estate matters.
- 7) Announcements by the Board or Department. No action was taken at this time.
- 8) Adjournment. Commissioner LeBlanc made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Kleb. The motion passed by a vote of 5 to 0.

 The meeting adjourned at 10:04 a.m.