

Maltby & District Invitation Darts League 2024-25

FINALS NIGHT REVIEW

This year's finals & presentations were held on Friday 30th May 2025 at the Dormans Club for the first time.

Proceedings got under way as planned at 7:30 with the 7-man final between the Beechwood and the Endeavour "A". The first match was between Marty Bullman of the Beechwood and Gary Hughf of the Endeavour "A", with Gary getting the Endeavour "A" off to a 1-0 lead with a 4 finish, despite Marty hitting the first 180 of the night. The second leg saw Jeff Bullock take the Endeavour "A" into a 2-0 lead with a 20 finish over Paul Greenwood. Adam Thompson then pulled one back for the Beechwood with a finish of 40 against Dom James, before John Purdy levelled the match for the Beechwood with a 4 finish against Cory Henry. Josh Goodall put the Endeavour "A" into the lead again with a double 1 finish against Tom Cronin, despite Tom hitting the second 180 of the night. Dean Sewell then levelled the match for the Beechwood with a 32 finish against Bailey Walton. This set the match up for a deciding leg between Carl Small of the Beechwood and Karl Henry of the Endeavour "A". Carl sealed the match for the Beechwood with a 40 finish much to the delight of his Beechwood team mates.

The 4-man final was between teams from the Beechwood and the Griffin. The Beechwood stormed into a 3-0 lead with Carl Small finishing on 16 against Paul Gamble, Adam Vickers finishing on 5 against Graham Badger, and John Purdy finishing on 40 against Richie Henery. Paul Allen then pulled one back for the Griffin with a 40 finish against Adam Thompson, before Carl Small and Adam Thompson from the Beechwood beat Graham Badger and Richie Henery in the pairs to take the match 4-2.

Next up was the triples final between Paul Allen, Chris Legg and Paul Gamble from the Griffin, against Chris Marron, Dave Appleton, and Brian Edwards from the Yella. Paul Gamble finished on 60 to give the Griffin the lead before Paul Allen secured the win for the Griffin with a 59 finish.

Next was the pairs final between Andrew "Moz" Moloney and Tom Hodgson from the Endeavour "B", against last year's runners up, Chris Peacock and Dave Avent from the Southern Cross. The first leg went to the Endeavour "B" when Moz finished on 52, but Dave Avent levelled the match with a 74 finish for the Southern Cross. The deciding leg and the match went to the Endeavour "B" with a double 10 finish from Moz.

The last match of the evening was the individual's final between Tom Cronin of the Beechwood, and Graham Badger of the Griffin. This was a fantastic end to the evening, with Tom taking the match 2-0 with finishes of 20 and 74.

At this point we paused for our buffet supper.



Maltby & District Invitation Darts League 2024-25

FINALS NIGHT REVIEW

Now that everyone had been fed, and all darts had been played, it was time for the presentation of the trophies. As per the previous four years, only the annual trophies would be presented at Finals Night, and the money that would have been spent on smaller keepsake trophies would be donated to charity, as chosen by the League Champions, this year the Beechwood. Discussions would take place later as to the amount and the benefitting charity.

Thank you to Danny Goodall's wife, Mel, for presenting the trophies for the Danny Goodall Knock Out Cup.

Also, many thanks to all Dormans staff for making the evening run smoothly given the short notice of the venue booking.

Special thanks to Peter Adams (League Chairman) and Billy Pugh (Apple Tree) for their assistance in setting everything up today. A very big thanks also to Billy Pugh for marking all finals, and to Ian Black for engraving all trophies.

I would also personally like to take this opportunity to thank all those people who hosted and refereed cup matches throughout the season. Dan Hodgson, Karl Henry, and Macauley Campbell (Endeavour), Mick & John Purdy (Beechwood), Brian Longstaff (Yellow Rose) and Ian Black (Parkway Social Club). Please forgive me if I have missed any names. Without all of these people, we wouldn't have had any finalists.

Thanks to all for making this another successful event, and congratulations to all winners and runners up.



Maltby & District Invitation Darts League 2024-25

FINALS NIGHT REVIEW

Here is a summary of where the trophies went: -

Trophy	Winners	Runners up
League	Beechwood	Griffin
Danny Goodall KO Cup	Beechwood	Endeavour "A"
Ken Tinkler Memorial Trophy (4-man)	John Purdy Carl Small Adam Vickers Adam Thompson John Goodall (Beechwood)	Chris Legg Paul Gamble Graham Badger Richie Henery Paul Allen (Griffin)
Jim Maynard Shield Triples	Chris Legg Paul Allen Paul Gamble Graham Badger (Griffin)	Chris Marron Dave Appleton Brian Edwards Marc Thomas (Yella)
Tony Hillman Pairs Trophy	Andrew Moloney Tom Hodgson (Endeavour "B")	David Avent Chris Peacock Marc Adamson (Southern Cross)
Spencer Freeman Individual	Tom Cronin (Beechwood)	Graham Badger (Griffin)
Highest Shot Out	156 Matt Kelly (Teal Arms)	

Again, many thanks for everyone's support, and I look forward to seeing you all again next season.

A Sm Tinkeer

John Tinkler League Secretary 01/06/2025