

A History of the Olive C. Farr Distinguished Service Award

This award is the highest honor bestowed on a PT member of the Iowa Physical Therapy Association. It is named in memory of Olive C. Farr, whose bequest in 1983 to the Iowa Physical Therapy Foundation provides scholarships and Ioans to students enrolled in Iowa physical therapy education programs.

Olive Farr was born Sept. 22, 1895, in Waverly, Iowa, and was educated at Cedar Falls Teachers College (where she also taught), the University of Iowa where she graduated in 1922 with a degree in physical education, and the University of Wisconsin at Madison where she received her certificate in physical therapy.

After eight years as a clinician, she became the first director of the physical therapy education program at the University of Iowa where she remained until retirement in 1963. She served as president of the Iowa Physical Therapy Association from 1946 to 1948.

Past recipients of the Olive C. Farr Distinguished Service Award include:

2021	Tracy Porter	2001	Byron Bork	1980	Donald Shurr
2020	Kathleen Sluka	2000	Susan Bell	1979	Norman Miller
2019	Jason Putz	1998	Gary Debner	1978	George Soper
2018	Sandra Norby	1997	Steve Strong	1977	Janet Dunn
2017	Mike Burggraaf	1996	Mary Wheatley	1976	Margery Surbaugh
2016	Randy Boldt	1995	Kim Majerus	1975	Warren Rogers
2015	Steve Cassabaum	1994	Dick Evans	1974	Luella Schlotfelt
2014	Mark Blankespoor	1993	Jim Hughes	1973	Nancy Thompson
2013	Kevin Rippey	1992	Pam Duffy	1972	Joyce Johnson
2012	Blake Hardy	1991	Ken Leo	1971	Ann McColley
2011	Richard Shields	1990	Ralph Cushman	1970	Margaret Campbell
2010	David Nielsen	1989	John Barr	1969	Frank Hazelton
2008	Jeff Taeger	1988	Dan Mack	1968	Charlotte Vasey
2007	Pam Hazell	1987	John Wadsworth	1967	John Blauer
2006	Brett Altman	1986	Bruce Miller	1966	Terry Jones
2005	Jean Hammill	1985	Walter Svoboda	1965	Leo Morrisey
2004	Tony Mack	1984	Douglas Crosby	1964	Philip Abood
2003	Jane Brown	1983	Gary Smidt	1963	Olive Farr
2002	Steven R. Clark	1981	Gary Soderberg		