

Annual General Meeting Meeting held Tuesday 17th November, 2020. 7.30pm via Zoom

1) Welcome (Paul Atherton)

Paul Atherton, Acting-Chairperson, welcomed all present and thanked them for attending. He expressed delight at the number of attendees (Zoom meetings being one positive to come out of COVID-19) and thanked Stacey Taig for her efforts to involve so many people.

Present:

Committee: Andrea Cross, Barbara Cavanagh, Catherine Shirrefs, Jessica Koenig, Paul Atherton, Peter McGrath, Susan Beasley, Josh Sykes, Bart Turgoose

Members: Andrew Brown, David Ward, Brendan O'Loughlin, Geoff Lord, Glenn Ryan, Michele Schwarz, Pauline Schmidt, Serena Eldridge,

Guests: Colin Kemp (Regional Development Victoria), Fiona Gorman (HRCC), Maria Whitford (Ararat RSL), Mark Fletcher (Wimmera Development Association), Mary Mason (founder of Dimboola Food Festival), Nathan Schokker (President of Queensland's Brisbane Junior Chamber of Commerce), Phillipa Cairns (Ararat City Council), Steve Bentley (Vice President of Mainstreet Australia), Stuart Benjamin (Elmstone Property Group) and Judy O'Connell (Small Business Commissioner).

Non Member: David Panozzo

Paul invited the Small Business Commissioner, Judy O'Connell, to say a few words. The Commissioner spoke of their role in trying to make it an even playing field for all business. They spend a lot of time dealing with disputes, particularly with Landlords and lately with cash flow issues between buyers and suppliers. Using negotiation and mediation they currently have a 92% success rate.

2) Sponsors: Paul formerly thanked our sponsors

- Horsham Rural City Council for their ongoing support & encouragement.
- Media sponsors (radio & print)
 - Ace Radio Broadcaster and The Weekly Advertiser
 - Wimmera Mail Times
- Think Web Design for IT support

3) Apologies

Members: Stacey Taig (BH Ambassador), Graham Keay, David Bowe

Invited Guests: Dr Anne Webster MP, Emma Kealy MP, Jodie Gillet (Commerce Ballarat), Sunil Bhalla (CEO - HRCC)

Motion: That the apologies be accepted.

Moved: Paul Atherton Seconded: Pauline Schmidt Carried

3) Guest Speaker:

Stuart Benjamin is the Chair of Victorian Small Business Ministerial Council. A strong advocate for small business and regional Australia, Stuart has 20 years' experience across multiple business sectors and is the Director of the Elmstone Property Group - a multi-faceted land and construction group operating across Western Victoria – as well as the Director of Aviation Accommodation Australia.

Stuart is the Chair of the Grampians New Energy Taskforce (GNeT) – working across the region to lead new approaches and practices to drive a low-carbon economy in Victoria. Stuart is the current Chair of RDA Grampians committee which he has led since 2012. He was also the Victorian RDA chair for 3 years.

Born and raised in regional Victoria, Stuart studied and worked around the globe before settling in Ballarat in 2000 where he now lives with his four children.

Stuart shared his journey into business and the challenges (both positive and negative) of the past year.

He then answered many questions including about who his mentors were (his family), how he developed the idea of his housing development in Horsham, his view on electric car charging stations and comments on working remotely.

Attendees expressed their thanks for his informative and inspiring talk.

4) Chairpersons Report

The chairpersons report was presented in the Annual Report and spoken to briefly by Paul Atherton.

Motion: That the chairperson report be accepted

Moved: Paul Atherton Seconded: Peter McGrath Carried

5) Minutes from Previous AGM

A copy of the previous AGM minutes was provided by email prior to the meeting. There was no business arising.

Motion: That the Minutes of the Previous AGM be accepted as a correct representation of proceedings

Moved: Paul Atherton Seconded: Peter McGrath Resolved

6) Ambassadors Report

Andrea Cross spoke on behalf of Stacey Taig about the Business Horsham projects such as the Business Horsham Lounge, Shop Horsham Gift Cards & Business Sentiment Survey.

7) <u>Treasurers Report</u>

Catherine Shirrefs presented a copy of the financials for the financial Year 2019-2020 as a part of the Annual Report

Motion: That the financials be accepted as true and correct.

Moved: Catherine Shirrefs Seconded: Andrea Cross Resolved

8) Resignation of Office Bearers

Resignation of executive committee members: Graham Keay, Pauline Schmidt & David Bowe

Motion: To accept resignation of Exec Committee Members

Moved: Paul Atherton Seconded: Peter McGrath Resolved

9) Election of Office Bearers (Paul Atherton)

Paul declared all Positions Vacant and asked Andrea Cross to take us through proceedings.

As there was only one nomination for each of the position bearers it was declared all positions as nominated.

Therefore, the following positions are deemed to be elected:

1)	Chairperson (2 year term) – Paul Atherton		(M: Catherine Shirrefs	S: Andrea Cross)
2)	Treasurer –	 Catherine Shirrefs 	(M: Paul Atherton	S: Andrea Cross)
3)	Secretary (Public Officer)	 Catherine Shirrefs 	(M: Paul Atherton	S: Andrea Cross)

As there were insufficient nominations for the industry sector positions available the following positions have been nominated and are declared elected:

Ind. Sector Rep (Agriculture) Andrea Cross	(M: Paul Atherton	S: Catherine Shirrefs)
Ind. Sector Rep (Prof Sve) Peter McGrath	(M: Paul Atherton	S: Catherine Shirrefs)
Ind. Sector Rep (Media) Josh Sykes	(M: Paul Atherton	S: Catherine Shirrefs)
Ind. Sector Rep (Retail) Paul Atherton	(M: Catherine Shirrefs	S: Andrea Cross)
Ind. Sector Rep (Hospitality) Barbara Cavanagh	(M: Paul Atherton	S: Catherine Shirrefs)
Ind. Sector Rep (Education) Jessica Koenig	(M: Catherine Shirrefs	S: Andrea Cross)
Ind. Sector Rep (Motor) Catherine Shirrefs	(M: Paul Atherton	S: Andrea Cross)
Ind. Sector Rep (Home based) Sue Beasley	(M: Paul Atherton	S: Catherine Shirrefs)
Cadet Bart Turgoose	(M: Paul Atherton	S: Catherine Shirrefs)

10) Nominations are called from the floor for the further positions:

Vice Chairperson – Peter McGrath (M: Paul Atherton S: Andrea Cross)

Minute Secretary - Vacant

Accommodation/Tourism: Vacant

Industry: Vacant Service: Vacant Manufacturing: Vacant

Health: Vacant Real Estate: Vacant

With no further nominations for the remaining positions it was declared that the vacant positions as outlined can be nominated and accepted by the executive committee at other times during the coming financial year.

Motion: To accept all nominations filled currently

Moved: Andrea Cross Seconded: Pauline Schmidt Resolved

Glenn Ryan, David Panozzo and Andrew Brown declined to nominate at this time.

David Ward spoke of his family history in printing and the start of the Horsham Times this year.

11) Appointment of Auditors

<u>Motion:</u> That Auditors to be re-appointed for the 2020/21 financial year and ongoing are Jason Hargreaves PPT Audit, 20 Lydiard Street South, Ballarat VIC 3353.

Moved: Catherine Shirrefs Seconded: Peter McGrath Resolved

12) Final Words

Paul thanked outgoing members: Graham Keay, David Bowe & Pauline Schmidt. Pauline spoke briefly about Horsham Concrete's role in the Australian first of using Polyrock in the Coles carpark.

Paul welcomed new committee: Jessica Koenig, Sue Beasley & Bart Turgoose. Bart introduced himself as he will be undertaking some administration work for Business Horsham and outlined his many other business, training and volunteering roles. Paul thanked all attendees for a very enjoyable meeting.

Meeting Closed: 9.05pm

Signed

.....

Paul Atherton Chairperson Business Horsham